16 ?’s about me

Name: Andrew John Sellen Age: 32
1) Where did you grow up? San Juan Bautista, CA

2) Educational background:  The first semester right out of high school was at  West Valley College in San Jose and I got involved in the scene shop building Babes In Toy Land.  Then I moved back to the Gilroy area and enrolled at Gavilan College where acting classes led to auditioning for spring children’s theatre where we put on a show for grammar school kids.  I got hooked and went out for big fall productions and began helping with prop and set construction.  Ten years of off and on classes I finally discovered The Western Stage.  I gained incredible experience that then allowed me to work in the industry in Vegas and L.A. putting school on hold.   I would like to finish my Theatre Arts Degree.

3) What is your earliest theatre memory and how did you initially get involved?   My earliest memory must have been in 4th grade walking as a class to watch one of the Christmas shows performed at the mission in San Juan Bautista by El Teatro Campesino.  Next was in High school watching Quidam By Cirque Du Soleil in a tent set up on a San Jose parking lot.

4) Most memorable moment in theatre:   Playing Edgar in King Lear.  I came on stage in nothing but a loin cloth as Poor Tom to the roll of laughter but then return as the masked hero to defeat my brother in a real broad sword fight. Very exciting

5) Favorite ice cream flavor and why:  Coffee gelato because I love coffee and Mint chip gelato because it reminds me of my childhood.

6) What do you love most about theatre?  I get to pretend.

7) Who in the theatre/entertainment industry do you look up to? Theatre:  Theodore Michael Dolas.  He taught me most of everything I know in theatre. Entertainment:  George Lucas.  Do i really need to explain why?

8) All-time favorite play and/or musical? One play and/or musical you’ve yet to see but is next on your list?  Macbeth… oh shit! Can i say that in a theatre blog?

9) What is your guilty pleasure?  Bacon

10) Theatre wish list (shows you would like to work on in some capacity):  Any show would be great.  I just want to work.

11) If you could describe yourself with a commonly used term, phrase, or piece of equipment related to theatre, what would it be and why?  A double swivel Cheese Burrow because I am a little corny and a little bit of an ass but twice the fun as your average single rigid Cheese burrow.

12) Finish the following sentence: “If I wasn’t in theatre, I’d probably be…” filthy rich and miserable

13) Where do you see yourself in five years?   I see myself happy, balancing my family life with a career in theatre.

14) Who or what continues to inspire you as you work in the theatre?   My wife Rebecca and two sons Quest and Phoenix.

15) Where will I be able to see you/your work when I come to the BASH this year?   Master  Carpenter ; one set design in thrust and one set design in the round, and one lighting design.

16) Words to live by:   “Measure twice, cut once.”  “It’s only paint.” 

One thought on “16 ?’s about me

  1. My son the dreamer. If not for the dreaming he would not have a course to follow. Ship of Dreams. More stops than time to visit. Sail on my son. I am very proud you are living your dreams.

Leave a Reply

