16 Questions: Get to Know a Little About Christina Marie Perez

Christina, age 27

 

1. Where did you grow up?

The beautiful city of Irvine in Orange County, CA

2. Educational background:

I have a BA from San Diego State University in Design for Film/TV

3. What is your earliest theatre memory and how did you initially get involved?

My mom used to take me to theatre all the time when I was a child. One of the first plays I remember seeing as a kid was “Bugsy Malone” at the Laguna Playhouse back in ’91 I believe. Even though theatre was a part of my life at a young age, I didn’t get involved until college. While taking a theatre history the professor needed more students to fill her costume crafts class and since I was already making those types of things for fun I thought why not.

4. Most memorable moment in theatre:

Being backstage trying to transform a female actor into a passable male in 30 seconds for “Twelfth Night.” Lets just say I’m really good with ace bandages and drawing mustaches uber fast 😉

5. Favorite ice cream flavor and why:

Mint and Chip. The mint is surprisingly good and refreshing and there is just enough chocolate. It’s pure creamy yumminess!! Especially the thrifty brand.

6. What do you love most about theatre?

I love that no two performances are the same.

7. Who in the theatre/entertainment industry do you look up to?

I’m not the type of person who has one person I look up to. I admire a lot of different artists. Off the top of my head I am liking the film team of Baz Luhrmann (director) and Catherine Martin (costume designer) and what they have been putting out there and cant wait to see more. I’m a fan of whoever came up with the overall look and concept of “Pushing Daisies.” Also costume designer Colleen Atwood’s designs are always fun and inspiring. I really loved the late fashion designer Alexander McQueen. I liked that he blended fashion with costume and every show of his was a theatrical production and a piece of art. Also, I liked that he worked a lot with musicians. I guess Im just a fan of different art forms mixing. It speaks to me.

8. All-time favorite play and/or musical? One play and/or musical you’ve yet to see but is next on your list?

Not big with the favorites but one of the best productions I saw was The Lion King at the Pantages around 2001. The puppetry was just amazing. Michael Curry and Julie Taymore did an excellent job on those and the costumes. I wasn’t expecting to like a Disney musical so much but it was beautiful. I would love to see “War Horse.” It looks absolutely amazing.

9. What is your guilty pleasure?

Dipping French fries into icecream or shakes. It’s sooooo good don’t knock it until you try it. It’s salty sweet goodness 🙂

10. Theatre wish list (shows you would like to work on in some capacity):

I don’t have a wish list but to answer the question I’ve always said I would love to work on a sci-fi or fantasy movie or tv show one day, so the same would apply for theatre. I would love to design anything that would allow for something fanciful and different. At this point I am happy to get to design and am open to everything.

11. If you could describe yourself with a commonly used term, phrase, or piece of equipment related to theatre, what would it be and why?

“Jack of all trades, master of none.” I feel like I know how to do a little of everything but haven’t quite reached that level of completely mastering something. Whether or not it is true I do not know. I just feel that way sometimes. Theatre is definitely the place for someone like me because you really do get to do a little of everything and it’s great fun.

12. Finish the following sentence: “If I wasn’t in theatre, I’d probably be…”:

If I wasn’t in theatre I would be in the video gaming industry or running a doggie day care.

13. Where do you see yourself in five years?

Hopefully working on costumes for a motion picture.

14. Who or what continues to inspire you as you work in the theatre?

It’s a creative outlet for me with a lot of creative talented people with whom I like to surround my self with. It’s a wonderful atmosphere where we are all working together to put on a production that will hopefully entertain an audience and hopefully reach them in a way that they experience a state of catharsis.

15. Where will I be able to see you/your work when I come to the BASH this year?

I will be designing costumes for a couple of the shows and possibly sound designing one of them.

16. Words to live by:

As you proceed through life, 
following your own path, 
birds will shit on you. 
Don’t bother to brush it off. Getting a comedic view of your situation 
gives you spiritual distance. 
Having sense of humor saves you.

–Joseph Campbell

2 thoughts on “16 Questions: Get to Know a Little About Christina Marie Perez

Leave a Reply

