Not Your Grandmother’s Dinner Theatre

While watching KTLA news, a segment came up spotlighting a new dinner theatre show and I have to say it definitely caught my interest. The show, at Vermont Kitchen and Bar, located in Hollywood, is called “FOR THE RECORD: BAZ LUHRMANN,” and showcases songs from his feature films, “Strictly Ballroom,” “Romeo + Juliet” and “Moulin Rouge.”  It stars performers you might recognize from Broadway, Television and Film, such as, Tracie Thoms (Rent, Cold Case, Death Proof), Jenna Leigh Green (Sabrina The Teenage Witch, Wicked), Kate Reinders (Wicked, Gypsy), Jackie Tohn (American Idol) and Brooke Tansley (Beauty And The Beast, Hairspray), as well as some new faces.  If you choose to enjoy dinner with this show there is a prefixed 3 course menu which consists of French inspired dishes.  In addition to the gourmet food, guests can also choose from a variety of Absinthe cocktails like The Sparkling Diamond, a Champagne cocktail with Absinthe and sirop de sucre, which I’m sure is cleverly named after the song in the movie sung by Nicole Kidman, “Sparkling Diamonds.”

Here’s a trailer for this new show:

While looking further into this specific dinner theatre venue and group, I discovered that they also put on a Quentin Tarantino show… yes, you heard me correctly. Quentin Tarantino. I have to say, not the first person that comes to mind when I think “Dinner Theatre” lols. This show features songs and scenes from movies “Pulp Fiction,” “Kill Bill” and “Death Proof,” which was very shocking to me, but I guess possible because of the great soundtracks these movies have.  Oh but wait!! The fun doesn’t stop there. There is one more show which showcases John Huges movies, with songs and scenes from 80’s films “Sixteen Candles,” “The Breakfast Club,” “Pretty In Pink,” “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off ,” as well as “Vacation” and “Home Alone.”  And no, I am not making this stuff up!! I’m dying to see a clip of them performing something from “Home Alone” right now, but sadly, youtube has failed me.

After finding out that shows like this exist out there in the world I am a little speechless, and I admit, very intrigued.  As far as I can see this seems to be unlike any dinner theatre experience I have heard about, but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t others out there. The idea of transforming films with great music into musical theatre is a concept which could fail miserably, and has in some cases, but the majority of the movies they have chosen, partnered with gourmet food and themed alcoholic beverages, seems to be worth a look and taste in my opinion. So if you ever find yourself in LA with nothing to do, Barre Vermont looks like it could be good times, and with each show style/theme being so different from each other there seems to be a little something for everyone 🙂

More information on the restaurant and shows can be found by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

