Collaboration

Since the beginning of this year I’ve started working on my thesis or final project for my B.A. in Teledramatic Arts & Technology. I’ve been collaborating with a partner on the project who will be my Director of Photography.  Some say collaboration can be difficult, especially if you are co-writing, and co-editing  your thesis.  It’s been an incredible experience so far, and I’ve realize how much collaboration really improves a project.  Communication plays a big role with collaboration, which allows us to keep each other updated on the latest script, changes, locations, etc… It can be difficult when the communication within a team is not there. Many times collaboration teams seem to forget that and fall behind on their expectations for there project.  I’m sure many of us, including myself, have been on many projects where communication within a group was lacking, and we all hate it. Without communication there is no team. The same thing applies to theater and we work together as a cast, a crew, and a production company to put on a play, or a musical. In many situations we depend  on each other to work together to produce a show, a play, or a scene. Based on the experience I’ve been going through this year and through out my theater experience working together has become a huge deal for me, as well as a challenge. Though I’m still learning, and making new discoveries everyday, the one skill I can take back and forth from the theater to the camera is collaboration.

Leave a comment