The Maine Attraction.

“Perhaps, therefore, ideal stage managers not only need to be calm and meticulous professionals who know their craft, but masochists who feel pride in rising above impossible odds.” -Peter Hall

As I pack and get ready to say ‘see ya later’ Dover-Foxcroft this week, I recall the quote above (which is annoyingly placed in the signature of all of my outgoing emails) and can’t help but acknowledging that this is exactly how I am feeling at this very moment. Having only a month to put up a full-scale show with high schoolers’ schedules, a limited budget, and a two-person design team doesn’t necessarily render these ‘odds’ impossible, but they do make the overall process more of a challenge…and they definitely don’t make me feel any calmer. But when all was said and done, we had a beautiful, fun, enjoyable show.

The Apple Tree, for those who are unfamiliar with the show, is three mini-musicals, based off of three short stories: “The Diary of Adam and Eve” by Mark Twain, “The Lady or the Tiger?” by Frank Stockton, and “Passionella” by Jules Feiffer. Thematically they are all linked by topic of temptation, the power of choice, and what it is to be a human being. As you can already tell, I am a fan of using quotes to illustrate my points, and Eve in the first story sings:

“How’d I come? Where’m I from? What’s my ultimate aim? I don’t know. Even so, I’m glad I came.”

Thank you, Eve, for perfectly expressing my feelings about coming to Maine this winter. And thank you, cast and crew of Foxcroft Academy’s The Apple Tree, for allowing me to, once again, feel extreme pride in what I do. I will never, ever forget you!

Leave a Reply

