I wish I was a Mechanical Engineer



Ron Barth, President of Resource Furniture, demonstrates and explains their amazing line of Italian-designed space.
This video is pretty cool. I have been thinking of ways to to give set pieces dual purposes and this video validates my idea. (Thank you, Shane, for sending me this.)

Space is always an issue  in theater and even more so at The Western Stage, now that 2x4BASH will be in the mix of the main season productions. I have one piece built but still working out some mechanics  for Dog Sees God. Right now, the units have two roles within the same show. I can’t wait to talk to the other designers about their needs and how we may apply this idea to cross set pieces between shows. Space-saving furniture is key, in my mind, due to the fact that two shows are in the round, relying hugely on furniture alone to set the scene.


One thought on “I wish I was a Mechanical Engineer

Leave a Reply

